window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-1529441-85');

TRIODOS

Turnover, EBITDA, net profits, accounting gains and losses, market shares… reading an annual financial report can be really tricky for most people. This type of document is often bulky, complex and packed full of figures, tables and graphs. But we took a different approach for Triodos Bank. We created a clear news video which made the annual figures more accessible for a broader public.

In simple terms, an annual report is a business’ bank statement. It’s an important document which offers details about the financial health of the company concerned. It’s a walk in the park for financial specialists, such as company shareholders, investors, pension funds, market analysts and supervisors. The general public, on the other hand, can find the going tough.

That is why Triodos Bank wanted to do things differently. The bank wanted to explain what they do on a daily basis and share the results they’d achieved, particularly with people who are less familiar with financial matters. But how? We advised them to distil their annual report into a 2-minute news video. As if it were a TV news report. Of course, we couldn’t include all of the figures, just the ones that were important for Triodos. Such as the money that the bank has raised from savers, for example, and the credit that they can provide to sustainable projects and businesses as a result.

We took our camera crew to one of these sustainable projects, financed by Triodos; a new residential area in Anderlecht, where energy company Brusol had installed free solar panels on the roofs of the houses. We chatted with residents who were delighted with the solar panels and were making huge energy savings on their budgets. This provided an independent, reliable witness report, which reinforced Triodos’ message while also adding credibility. 

Triodos itself also featured heavily, of course. General director Thomas Van Craen explained why the bank was so committed to providing credit to businesses which focus on renewable energy. One of these companies also featured in the story. 

The end result? No complex figures, just a coherent and relevant story that is accessible and interesting to both specialised and broader audiences. 

Your experts

Arno Creve

PR Consultant

Gunter Huyghe

PR Consultant

Discover our Services

Back to top

TRIODOS

Chiffres d’affaires, EBITDA, bénéfices nets courants, moins-values/plus-values comptables, parts de marché… Bien comprendre les comptes annuels n’est pas une mince affaire. Souvent, il s’agit d’un rapport pointu, rempli de chiffres, de tableaux et de graphiques. Nous avons donc décidé de nous y prendre autrement pour Triodos Bank. En optant pour une newsvidéo, les chiffres annuels sont devenus beaucoup plus compréhensibles pour le grand public.

En gros, le rapport annuel reflète la situation financière d’une entreprise à la fin d’une année. C’est un document essentiel. Souvent, les experts financiers (comme les actionnaires, les investisseurs, les fonds de pension, les analystes boursiers et les organismes de régulation) le décortiquent sans problème. Mais ce n’est pas le cas du grand public.

C’est pourquoi Triodos Bank voulait une autre approche. La banque voulait informer les gens qui s’y connaissaient moins dans le domaine financier, leur expliquer ses activités et les résultats obtenus en fin d’année. Nous avons proposé de présenter leur rapport annuel sous la forme d’une newsvidéo de deux minutes, comme s’il s’agissait d’un reportage pour le journal télévisé. Il est clair que nous n’avons pas pu reprendre tous les chiffres. Nous nous sommes concentrés sur ceux qui étaient importants aux yeux de Triodos, comme l’argent que la banque récupère auprès des épargnants ou les crédits qu’elle peut octroyer grâce à cet argent à des entreprises ou des projets durables.

Nous sommes partis caméra au poing à la découverte d’un projet durable financé par Triodos: un nouveau quartier situé rue de la Prose à Anderlecht où l’entreprise énergétique Brusol avait installé gratuitement des panneaux solaires sur le toit des maisons. Nous y avons interviewé une habitante, ravie des panneaux solaires qui lui ont permis de réduire fortement sa facture énergétique. Ce témoignage fiable, entièrement indépendant, est venu appuyer le message de Triodos, tout en lui conférant une importante crédibilité.

Nous avons aussi donné la parole à Thomas Van Craen, Directeur général de Triodos. Celui-ci a expliqué pourquoi la banque voulait absolument octroyer des crédits aux entreprises actives dans le secteur de l’énergie renouvelable. Nous sommes aussi allés filmer dans une de ces entreprises durables. 

Au lieu de chiffres complexes, nous avons pu fournir un récit cohérent et pertinent accessible et intéressant tant pour le large public que pour les fins connaisseurs. 

Vos experts

Arno Creve

PR Consultant

Gunter Huyghe

PR Consultant

Discover our Services

Back to top