Indigo Diabetes

Ghent-based start-up works on a high-tech, subdermal sensor that continuously measures the sugar levels of people with diabetes. They have received 38 million euros from investors for the further development of their groundbreaking application. That is news – especially when you know that one in eleven adults world-wide is afflicted with this disorder. Bepublic created a tailored story for each Indigo stakeholder, but to reach the general public, we made sure that each story had a human touch.

How do we make this world-class story even better? That was our first thought, when we heard what Indigo Diabetes was developing. This Ghent-based company wants to be the first to use a light-beam sensor to measure glucose and ketones subcutaneously in people who have diabetes.

Our journalistic interest was immediately aroused. Especially considering the enormous impact that this disorder has on our society. More than 1 in 11 adults is afflicted with diabetes. The finger pricks are not only painful, they also make it immediately clear to the outside world that something is up with your sugar levels. The other solution is a patch, which not only must be adjusted but is also easy to disturb and, once again, ensures stigmatising glances for the user.

The painful pricks and looks – that is what we had to show and tell if we wanted to make clear to the general public the importance of this world-first. So, we searched for and found two people who would share with us their impressions of life with diabetes. They were also in the best position to evaluate how their lives might change because of this application.

In addition to this, we also wrote a press release for consumption by the general public. And to ensure we reached all of the stakeholders, we created a press release for the academic world and another focusing on the investment story behind Indigo Diabetes.

As the capstone, all of the texts on the Indigo Diabetes website were refreshed, and we also created an animated video that explains in simple terms how the sensor works. Anyone who read or saw coverage about Indigo Diabetes saw the same look-and-feel on their website and on their social media channels. This way we created one coherent whole through which each stakeholder received his or her own tailored story, while we made maximum use of the ‘human touch’ to reach a large and diverse audience.

VTM Nieuws, RTL TVi and Kanaal Z all aired reports featuring our testimonial-givers, and articles featuring both the human aspect and the financial aspect were published in newspapers such as De Tijd, De Standaard, Le Soir, L’Echo, Het Nieuwsblad and Het Laatste Nieuws. And, based on our targeted press releases, international online media and digital sector-specific media also ran news articles which allowed Indigo Diabetes to tell their story to each stakeholder for more than a week running.

YOUR EXPERTS

Ken Standaert
Ken Standaert

PR Consultant

Discover our service

Back to top

Indigo Diabetes

Une startup gantoise travaille sur un capteur sous-cutané qui mesure en permanence la glycémie des diabétiques. Elle a levé 38 millions d’euros auprès d’investisseurs pour poursuivre le développement de son application révolutionnaire. Voilà un bon sujet d’actualité! D’autant plus lorsque l’on sait qu’un adulte sur onze dans le monde souffre de cette pathologie. Bepublic a rédigé des textes s’adressant spécifiquement à chaque partie impliquée et a veillé à inclure une touche plus humaine pour susciter l’intérêt du grand public.
header-mediarelaties
header-mediarelaties

Comment pouvons-nous enjoliver ce récit d’envergure internationale? Telle fut la première question qui nous vint à l’esprit lorsque nous avons entendu ce que la société gantoise Indigo Diabetes était en train de développer. Son ambition? Être la première entreprise à mesurer le taux de glucose et de cétones dans le sang des diabétiques au moyen d’un capteur optique sous-cutané. 

De quoi titiller notre curiosité journalistique! À plus forte raison lorsque l’on sait que cette pathologie a d’importantes répercussions sociales. Près d’un adulte sur onze souffre de diabète. Le fait de devoir se piquer le doigt plusieurs fois par jour est non seulement douloureux, mais révèle également au grand jour une dérégulation de la glycémie. L’alternative existante consiste à porter un patch réglable, qui peut hélas se dérégler et donc aussi provoquer le regard stigmatisant d’autrui.

Nous devions parler de ces piqûres douloureuses et du regard social porté sur les diabétiques pour expliquer au grand public l’importance de cette primeur mondiale. C’est pourquoi nous avons cherché et nous avons trouvé deux personnes prêtes à témoigner de leur vie en tant que diabétiques. Celles-ci étaient les mieux placées pour parler des conséquences au quotidien de ce nouveau capteur. 

Nous avons rédigé un communiqué de presse destiné au grand public. Afin d’être sûrs d’atteindre toutes les parties impliquées, nous avons aussi rédigé un communiqué de presse pour le monde académique et un autre sur les investissements réalisés par Indigo Diabetes dans le cadre de ce projet.

Enfin, nous avons actualisé tous les textes sur le site web de Indigo Diabetes et nous avons réalisé une vidéo animée pour expliquer simplement le fonctionnement du capteur. Peu importe que les informations sur Indigo Diabetes aient été lues ou vues, toutes ont été diffusées sur leur site web et dans leurs réseaux sociaux dans le même esprit et en utilisant le même graphisme. Nous avons ainsi pu créer un tout cohérent en permettant à chaque partie intéressée d’accéder aux informations qui la concernaient et avons exploité au mieux la petite touche plus humaine nécessaire à la portée du récit vers un public plus large et plus diversifié.

VTM Nieuws, RTL TVi et Kanaal Z ont diffusé les reportages avec nos témoins ; des articles ont également été publiés dans les journaux De Tijd, De Standaard, Le Soir, L’Écho, Het Nieuwsblad et Het Laatste Nieuws en mettant l’accent nécessaire tantôt sur l’aspect humain, tantôt sur l’aspect financier. Des médias online internationaux ainsi que des médias numériques spécialisés ont diffusé des articles sur la base de nos communiqués de presse ciblés. Indigo Diabetes a ainsi pu expliquer sa démarche à toutes les parties intéressées pendant plus d’une semaine.

VOS EXPERTS

Ken Standaert
Ken Standaert

PR Consultant

Discover our service

Back to top