G4S

The first so-called transition centres opened their doors in Belgium in September 2019 and January 2020. Their purpose? To rehabilitate and return ex-prisoners to society. We were informed by the private security company G4S Care that no fewer than five different stakeholders were involved in this unique project, each with their own visions and expectations. They were operating the transition centres and provided us with information about the concept and the relevant organisations. Thanks to a strong communication plan, we presented an unambiguous core message to the outside world.

G4S
G4S

Assessing sensitivity

The first step was to conduct comprehensive media research and have a series of conversations. Our PR consultants assessed the sensitivities we picked up on. What style had been used in previous communication about the concept? Who were the supporters and opponents? What were their arguments? This provided crucial insights for the further development of our communication strategy.

Stakeholders around the table

We then united the five project partners around the table: operators G4S Care and Exodus Nederland, representatives from the prison system, the Justice Department and local authorities. This was the perfect opportunity to air any concerns and set out communication preferences for the project. We summarised everything in a comprehensive communication plan which clearly set out each role, the corresponding areas of expertise and the core messages. This provided the required structure. The communication plan served as a reference manual that could be consulted by every organisation.

Formulating core messages

We then organised a press conference in a transition centre. After all, this concept was “visually” new as well. Journalists were given the possibility of getting an overview of the project. We carefully crafted our core messages but also gave each party the opportunity to explain its area of expertise during the press moment.

Our weeks of preparation were rewarded with fantastic results in terms of television, newspaper and radio coverage. National and regional media published in-depth articles on the transition centre, each from their own perspective but based on the core message that we’d envisaged.

Your experts

Sander Vanlouwe
Sander Vanlouwe

PR Consultant

Discover our Services

Back to top

G4S

En Belgique, les premières maisons de transition ont ouvert leurs portes en septembre 2019 et janvier 2020. Leur mission: faciliter le retour des détenus à la vie en société. Comme nous l’avait fait savoir la société de surveillance G4S Care, chargée de l’exploitation de ces maisons, cinq parties étaient impliquées dans ce projet unique, chacune avec sa propre vision et ses propres attentes. G4S Care nous a fourni toutes les informations nécessaires concernant le concept et les parties impliquées. Grâce à un solide plan de communication, nous avons pu envoyer aux citoyens des messages clairs et précis.

G4S
G4S

Dresser la liste des points sensibles

Nous avons commencé par une large étude médiatique ainsi que divers entretiens pour dresser la liste des points sensibles. Nous voulions savoir notamment comment s’était déroulée la communication jusqu’à présent, qui étaient les défendeurs et les opposants au projet, quels étaient leurs arguments, etc. Cela nous a permis d’avoir différentes perspectives intéressantes pour élaborer notre stratégie de communication.

Rassembler les parties autour de la table

Ensuite, nous avons réuni les cinq partenaires du projet: les exploitants G4S Care et Exodus Nederland, l’Administration pénitentiaire, le SPF Justice et les administrations locales. Toutes les parties ont pu exprimer leurs préoccupations et partager leurs souhaits en matière de communication. Nous avons structuré toutes ces idées et élaboré un plan de communication détaillé dans lequel nous avons défini le rôle et les domaines d’expertise de chacun, en veillant à préciser les messages clés y afférents. Le plan de communication est alors devenu un véritable outil de référence pour chacun.

Formuler les messages clés

Nous avons aussi organisé une conférence de presse au sein d’une maison de transition. Celle-ci a été déterminante pour la presse audiovisuelle. Les journalistes ont pu se faire une idée claire du concept. Nous avons défini les messages clés prioritaires, mais chacune des parties a eu la possibilité de mettre en valeur son domaine d’expertise pendant le point presse.

Ce long travail de préparation en amont a débouché sur de beaux résultats dans la presse écrite et parlée, à la télévision comme à la radio. Tant au niveau national que régional, les médias ont parlé en long et en large des maisons de transition, chacun de leur propre point de vue, mais tous, en reprenant les messages clés que nous voulions diffuser.

Vos experts

Sander Vanlouwe
Sander Vanlouwe

PR Consultant

Back to top