FEBIAC

During the 2020 Brussels Motor Show, the national automobile federation Febiac was faced with a string of climate protests. The voice of Febiac, however, was just as loud as that of the protesters. How did they do it? By working with us and using a strategic approach to communication, by being prepared for all eventualities, and by continuously monitoring the protesters’ every move.

febiac
febiac

‘A good start is half the battle’, as the saying goes. But don’t forget the other half of the battle still has to be fought. The same goes for crisis communication. Febiac was confronted by the first, small-scale protest at their headquarters just prior to the press conference at the motor show. This was just the start, however, and the protesters announced there would be more. Febiac had decided, in advance, to showcase electric cars and so-called combi-mobility at the show. However, there was a risk that this green message would be side-lined. 

Thus, as a precaution, we joined forces with Febiac and created a strong crisis plan. We set out various scenarios and prepared the corresponding communication for each situation. With crystal-clear key messages, in the right tone of voice.

Changes on the go


A crisis plan obviously can’t cover every eventuality. So, we also drafted a comprehensive list of questions and answers on the climate protest for all stand holders. This allowed us to guide them through the issues and ensure we were all on the same page.

We also analysed the activists’ social networks and monitored their activities. Febiac, in turn, was able to quickly adapt its communication to the various activities before and also during the two protest-packed Saturdays.

In other words, we were the eyes and ears of Febiac. We were able to change gear quickly all along the way, allowing Febiac’s busy communication team to focus on disseminating their messages. Like a well-oiled tandem, we provided a robust response to all the climate protests.

Your experts

Jeroen Wils
Jeroen Wils

Managing Director

Sander Vanlouwe
Sander Vanlouwe

PR Consultant

Lisa Kaspers
Lisa Kaspers

Senior PR Consultant

Discover our service

Back to top

FEBIAC

Febiac, la fédération belge de l’automobile a dû gérer plusieurs manifestations pour le climat, pendant le Salon de l’Auto 2020. Elle a réussi à faire entendre la voix du secteur même si les manifestants ont tout fait pour monopoliser le débat. Comment s’y est-elle prise? En optant pour une stratégie de communication réfléchie, en se préparant parfaitement et en surveillant continuellement toutes les activités des mouvements protestataires.

febiac
febiac

Selon le proverbe, un homme averti en vaut deux. Rien n’est plus vrai dans la communication de crise. Juste avant la présentation du Salon de l’Auto à la presse, Febiac a dû gérer une première action de protestation à petite échelle, organisée devant leur siège social. Ce n’était qu’un début puisque les manifestants ont immédiatement annoncé que d’autres actions allaient suivre. Febiac avait déjà décidé que les véhicules électriques et la mobilité combinée  seraient les éléments phares du salon, mais le message écologique que voulait faire passer le secteur semblait menacé.

Nous avons donc élaboré un solide plan de crise en collaboration avec Febiac, par mesure de précaution. Nous avons rédigé plusieurs scénarios et avons minutieusement préparé la communication pour chaque situation. Des messages clés précis, de bon ton.

Prêts à intervenir en cours de route


Un plan de crise seul ne suffit pas. C’est pourquoi nous avons dressé une liste détaillée de questions et de réponses, pour tous les exposants susceptibles d’être assaillis de questions. Ainsi, nous avons pu les encadrer et veiller à ce que tous parlent d’une seule et même voix.

Nous avons en outre analysé les réseaux sociaux des manifestants et avons surveillé leurs activités. Nous avons pu ainsi adapter rapidement la communication de Febiac pour réagir adéquatement à leurs tactiques de protestation, tant devant le salon que lors des deux samedis au cours desquels des actions ont eu lieu.

Nous avons été les oreilles et les yeux de Febiac et nous avons pu ainsi intervenir tandis que l’équipe de communication de Febiac pouvait se concentrer sur la diffusion de ses messages. Cette collaboration bien huilée a parfaitement fonctionné et a permis d’offrir une réponse intelligente et pertinente aux actions des manifestants.

Vos experts

Jeroen Wils
Jeroen Wils

Managing Director

Sander Vanlouwe
Sander Vanlouwe

PR Consultant

Lisa Kaspers
Lisa Kaspers

Senior PR Consultant

Discover our service

Back to top